top of page

Italian Language Program

The Curriculum


The curriculum that has been developed for use by the instructors in this Italian Language Program utilizes a combination of  well-established teaching practices and methodologies from our American University system, in addition to an extensive theoretical approach designed by European theorists, researchers and educators.  


The courses and the levels in this program are appropriately designed to match the learning standards set forth by the Counsel of Europe’s Common European Framework for Languages (CEFR) and the requirements established by the Association of Language Testers of Europe (ALTE) for the number of guided teaching hours needed for successful completion of a particular level.

What is the (CEFR)?


The result of over twenty years of research, the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: Learning, teaching, assessment (CEFR) was designed to provide a transparent, coherent and comprehensive basis for the elaboration of language syllabuses and curriculum guidelines, the design of teaching and learning materials, and the assessment of foreign language proficiency.


The CEFR describes foreign language proficiency at six levels (A1 and A2, B1 and B2, C1 and C2).  Each of these six levels has an accompanying ‘stage’ name.  This scheme makes it possible to compare tests and examinations across languages and national boundaries. It also provides a basis for recognizing language qualifications, thus facilitating educational and occupational mobility.  


What is the (ALTE)?


The Association of Language Testers of Europe (ALTE) was established in 1989. Their initial aim was to establish common standards for language testing across Europe, thereby supporting multilingualism and helping to preserve the rich linguistic heritage of Europe. It was also vital that individual test takers gained a language qualification that was a fair and accurate assessment of their linguistic ability, one which was recognized around the world, and which could be accurately compared to qualifications in other languages.


The ALTE also provides reference for the approximate total number of guided teaching hours that language learners would need to have been exposed to in order to fulfill the aims of each CEF level.  


Listed below are the following:  1. The six CEFR levels.  2. Their associated ‘stage’ name.  3. The “type” of student that is best suited at each level.  4. The approximate number of guided teaching hours ALTE has determined that a student would need to have been exposed to before moving on to a higher level.


A1 - ‘Breakthrough’ Stage - (Beginner and Elementary students - Basic Users of Italian)    

A2 - ‘Wayward’ Stage - (Elementary and Pre-Intermediate students - Basic Users of Italian)   


B1 - ‘Threshold’ Stage - (Pre-Intermediate and Intermediate students  - Independent Users of Italian)  


B2 - ‘Vantage’ Stage - (Intermediate and Upper Intermediate students - Independent Users of Italian)   


C1 - ‘Effective Operational Proficiency’ Stage - (Advanced students - Proficient Users)   


C2 - ‘Mastery’ Stage - (Proficient students - Proficient Users)   

* click on any of the six levels (or stages) to read its description...

All of our lessons will continue to be conducted online. See our schedule here.
For more information we can be reached by phone or by email.

For more information about our upcoming 'Orientation Meetings for New Students' click here.

bottom of page